Follow us!

Once is not Enough and The Spy Who Came In from The Cold

Posted by Tim Horemans

Added on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Once is not Enough and The Spy Who Came In from The Cold

New Intrada releases!

Intrada has released Henry Mancini's Once is not Enough and Sol Kaplan's The Spy Who Came in From The Cold.

What might be Henry Mancini's finest score for the seventies finally makes its long overdue premiere on CD! Jacqueline Susann's Once Is Not Enough is large-scale story of fame and failure, success and sex. Guy Green directs large cast with Kirk Douglas in lead as aging film producer, Deborah Raffin as his daughter, David Janssen as troubled author, Alexis Smith as wealthy wife of Douglas, George Hamilton as Raffin's suitor, Melina Mercouri as aged recluse, Brenda Vaccaro as zesty magazine editor. Henry Mancini writes incredibly melodic score in his finest classic sixties style. Melodies both warmly sumptuous, tenderly sad play key roles. Haunting theme for January a standout, with tragic minor key overtones playing in contrast to sunnier key of main theme. Both melodies play amongst composer's all-time finest. But there is so much more. Score is overflowing with material: trademark Mancini source pieces in variety of styles, rich background score sequences based on main themes, more. Mancini often made musical gesture towards someone featured in the cast. Arabesque (Something For Sophia), The Pink Panther (Something For Sellers), Breakfast At Tiffany's (Something For Cat). Here he provides 'Something For Alexis'. Also in signature Mancini style are numerous instrumental solos throughout, with contributions from piano, electric piano, guitar (both electric, acoustic), flute, harp, horn, vibes, metal xylophone... literally a treasure trove of featured ideas! Somewhat troubled film production resulted in multiple approaches to several musical sequences including both instrumental, wordless choral versions of main theme, alternates of end credit music, unused vocal version of theme sung by Jerry Wright, other changes. Intrada CD presents them all. While the Paramount film was only presented in mono, the score happily was recorded in 2' 16-track formats, allowing new digital stereo mix of everything. Henry Mancini conducts. Intrada Special Collection Release available while quantities and interest remain!
Track list

01. Opening Scene (1:44)
02. Son Of Main Title (3:17)
03. Something For Alexis (2:56)
04. Januarys Theme (2:04)
05. Right On Time (1:01)
06. Lonely Figure (1 1:27)
07. One More Jolt (1:04)
08. Only In Movies (0:37)
09. El Morocco Rocker (3:45)
10. Once Around The Floor (2:25)
11. Holly* (1:52)
12. The Soft Touch (From Hatari!) (3:03)
13. The Woman I Love (1:43)
14. Karla (3:46)
15. The Zinger (2:33)
16. Enchanting Creature (1:47)
17. Bike Ride (Orchestra/Piano) (1:32)
18. The Soap Trick (4:39)
19. Mad Mike (1:35)
20. No Coming Back (1:12)
21. Nowhere To Go* (1:38)
22. Lonely Figure 2* (1:19)
23. Theme From Once Is Not Enough No. 6 (Piano) (1:30)
24. End Title And Credits (Orchestra/Chorus) (Lyrics: Larry Kusik)* (4:21)
Total Time: 53:47

25. Opening Scene Alternate 2) (Vocal by Jerry Wright) (Lyrics: Tony Asher)* (2:48)
26. Opening Scene Alternate 1) (Orchestra/Chorus)* (2:48)
27. Bike Ride (Orchestra & Chorus)* (1:33)
28. End Title And Credits Alternate (Orchestra/Wordless Chorus)** (4:20)
29. End Title And Credits Alternate 2 (Orchestra/Chorus))
(Lyrics: Sammy Cahn)* (4:21)
30. End Title And Credits Film Edit (Orchestra/Chorus) (Lyrics: Larry Kusik)* (6:07)
31. Lonely Figure (Piano: Henry Mancini)* (1:19)
32. Theme From Once Is Not Enough No. 4 (Piano: Henry Mancini)* (1:23)
* Not Used In Film
Total Extras Time: 25:10

Terrific sixties-style spy movie score by Sol Kaplan makes CD premiere in two versions! John Le Carre's superb cold war espionage tale gets superb filming by Martin Ritt. Richard Burton, Claire Bloom, Oskar Werner, Sam Wanamaker star. Unlike glamorous, exotic worlds of super-spy James Bond, ordinary protagonists of Le Carre's thriller play out their tense game in decidedly non-exotic shadows of East Berlin, West Berlin. First version of score is new mastering of terrific RCA original score album, recorded in London in October 1965 and presented intact from original stereo album master tapes. Second version is world premiere of actual soundtrack performances recorded one month earlier in London, presented from original 35mm three channel scoring session masters. Sol Kaplan writes to moody, grim black & white story but infuses music with wide variety of styles: Brassy intro, melancholy main theme featuring sax, powerful John Barry-ish motif for 'The Compound', haunting 'Piano Prelude' variant of main theme, tentative, dark-hued 'Cell Door' music, brazen 'Pussy Willow Club' sequence, more. Sequences of lean, austere material trade with dangerous, throbbing ideas. And always that memorable theme, close by. Also worthy of spotlighting: when score reaches conclusion, Kaplan returns to main theme but ultimately closes with unaccompanied solo sax for final cadence. Stark, powerful ending! Both soundtrack and re-recorded score cover similar territory as actual score in picture runs under half an hour. For RCA version, Kaplan prepared charged, upbeat arrangement of main theme to help bring LP duration to 33 minutes. An additional un-used arrangement made during October sessions plays at end of entire CD, following soundtrack performances. Un-used alternate version of final solo sax cadence also appears. The sixties era offers a plethora of cool movie & TV spy soundtracks, from Bond to U.N.C.L.E., from Flint to Palmer, from Matt Helm to I Spy. Kaplan's contribution, like the film it accompanies, is one of the finest. CD packaging offers both original RCA album duo-tone artwork plus dramatic, full-color 'flipper cover' artwork. Choose your favorite! Sol Kaplan conducts. Intrada Special Collection release available while quantities and interest remain!

Track list

Original 1965 Soundtrack Album
01. Theme From The Spy Who Came in From the Cold (2:42)
02. Piano Prelude (3:03)
03. Control (3:51)
04. Contact (2:06)
05. The Pussy Willow Club (2:36)
06. Pussy Willow Girl (3:21)
07. Leamas and Fiedler (2:48)
08. The Compound (2:58)
09. The Cell Door (3:30)
10. Waltz for a Spy (2:41)
11. The Spy Comes In (2:40)
Total Time: 33:42

Original FILM Soundtrack
12. Main Title (2:41)
13. Piano Prelude (3:02)
14. The Spy Comes In (1:58)
15. Control (1:58)
16. Labour Exchange/Walk in the Rain (2:00)
17. Assignation (2:22)
18. The Pussy Willow Club (4:36)
19. Interlude (0:56)
20. Contact (0:59)
21. The Newsphoto (0:42)
22. The Compound (1:13)
23. Waiting for Fiedler (1:09)
24. The Cell Door #1 (1:02)
25. The Cell Door #2 (1:32)
26. End of the Spy (0:39)
27. End of the Spy (alternate) (0:49)
28. Theme From The Spy Who Came in From the Cold (3:01)
Total Time: 31:22