Soundtrack Magazine Soundtrack Soundtrack Magazine  

The 7th Voyage of Sinbad

The 7th Voyage of Sinbad Soundtrack (Bernard Herrmann) - CD cover
Composer: Bernard Herrmann
Released: 1998 (Film release: 1958)
Label: Colosseum (4005939596125)
Varèse Sarabande (0030206000146)
Type: Movie
Listen: MP3
Format: CD, Download
Reviewers (10.00/10)
Members (8.00/10) (5 votes)
Vote here!
Subscribe now!

Stay better informed and get access to collectors info!

Support this website by buying this music through the links below! MP3


1. Overture (2:04)
2. The Fog (2:21)
3. The Princess (1:00)
4. The Stone Gate (1:43)
5. The Cyclops (3:17)
6. The Trumpets (0:19)
7. Baghdad (2:45)
8. Sultan's Feast (1:35)
9. The Vase (0:35)
10. Cobra Dance (1:36)
11. The Prophesy (1:36)
12. The Pool (1:18)
13. Night Magic (1:34)
14. Tiny Princess (1:20)
15. The Ship (1:10)
16. The Fight (1:58)
17. The Return (1:10)
18. The Skull (1:05)
19. The Cave (1:14)
20. The Capture (0:51)
21. The Fight with the Cyclops (1:16)
22. Cyclops' Death (1:26)
23. The Cliffs (1:11)
24. The Egg (1:19)
25. The Request (1:19)
26. The Genie's Home (3:18)
27. The Fight with the Roc (1:51)
28. The Nest (2:09)
29. The Dragon (2:24)
30. Transformation (2:05)
31. The Skeleton (0:57)
32. The Duel with the Skeleton (1:39)
33. The Sword (0:32)
34. Dragon and Cyclops (1:54)
35. The Crossbow (1:08)
36. The Death of the Dragon (0:54)
37. Finale (1:51)

Total duration: 57 minutes
Write your own review for this soundtrack!

Review of Tom Daish, submitted at , score: 10/10
Bernard Herrmann, as well as being renowned for his amazing and very fitting scores to the best films of Alfred Hitchcock, he was also extensively asked to write scores for sci-fi and fantasy films and 7th Voyage of Sinbad is one of his finest. Each track is a movement unto itself and the whole score is full of incident and memorable musical accompaniments to the various bizarre creatures that Ray Harryhausen brought to life on the screen. The Overture is one of Herrmann's most exciting with crashing brass and very oriental turns in the woodwind and strings, also broken up with a slightly more lyrical bridge passage. It would take too long to mention something about every single track as there is something or interest in every corner of the score and no moments are wasted with idle meandering strings or other dull moments that so often occur on today's fantasy scores. The action cues are similarly interesting and never descend into mindless plodding bass. The Cyclops music has huge lumbering brass crashes that come to the fore whenever he appears on screen. The Skeleton and the duel with the Skeleton highlight (not surprisingly, I suppose) xylophones to mirror the bones. The use of expanded percussion works very well to bring a very exotic sound to all the music. The exciting percussion also become prominent during The Fight (although what the fight is with is not specified.)

There are more lyrical moments. The string melody for the Princess is perhaps slightly more traditional Hollywood sounding, but it still has a spark of the exotic that stands it apart. Other moments such as the Fog which is almost exactly what you'd imagine a musical depiction of fog to sound like; mysterious, brooding, but with a quite dense sound despite only using a few woodwinds and strings. I could give a track by track description, but that wouldn't really do justice to the music and anyway, why read my feeble attempts when you can hear everything that Herrmann's imagination could create brought to you in splendid fashion by Debney and the RSNO. The performance is amazing, and the pacing seems quite fast compared to the re-recordings that Herrmann did of a few of the tracks, I suspect that this version most closely matches the original speeds. It is most apparent in cues such as the overture, just how well the RSNO, the brass in particular perform. The sound quality is a trifle muffled when played quietly, but when you crank up the volume a little or use headphones, it comes across brilliantly and all the instrumentation can be heard very well indeed, while still having a wide, concert-hall stereo image. Anyone who enjoys Herrmann or fantasy scores would do well to give this a listen as you'll be amazed just how much more inventive Herrmann was than some of today's composers.

Read other recent reviews by Tom Daish: The Snow Files: The Film Music of Mark Snow, Andromeda, Amarcord

Find more reviews on
Other releases of The 7th Voyage of Sinbad (1958):

7th Voyage of Sinbad, The (2009) 7th Voyage of Sinbad, The (1986) Citizen Kane - The Essential Bernard Herrmann Collection (1999) 7th Voyage of Sinbad, The (2011) 7th Voyage of Sinbad, The (2000) 7th Voyage of Sinbad, The (2013)

Report a fault or send us additional info!: User name is Copyright © 1998-2015 by Arvid Fossen. Privacy Policy.