Blown Away

Posted by Tim Horemans

Added on Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Blown Away

Silvestri closes 2013 soundtrack year for Intrada

World premiere of Alan Silvestri soundtrack for Stephen Hopkins action-thriller starring Jeff Bridges, Tommy Lee Jones, Lloyd Bridges, Forest Whitaker. Only one cue was previously available in 1994 on Sony label release with mostly songs unrelated to Silvestri score. Now Intrada addresses that situation at last. Tommy Lee Jones seethes over misfortunes during Irish terrorism activities, is incarcerated, breaks out and targets Bridges who now works in Boston bomb squad. Their numerous explosive confrontations give Silvestri ample room for lengthy, dynamic 73-minute large-scale score. Interestingly, while Silvestri fills climactic chase scenes with his signature propulsive action music, he actually builds intensity through slow-burn approach, with complex string writing, aggressive percussion segments, bursts of energetic brass all moving inexorably towards powerhouse chase sequences. Customary for composer with big action pictures, Silvestri anchors with small motifs that he can build larger ideas upon. Cohesion is established largely through harmonic devices. This is intense, involved scoring! Intrada CD presented from two-track digital scoring session masters courtesy MGM, including 'Prince's Day (Main Title)', the solitary cue available earlier. As Bridges' wife is concert violinist, and 4th of July concert plays big role in climax of picture, Silvestri adapts, conducts brief segments of Tchaikovsky chestnut, '1812 Overture' for use in film. We include those as 'extras' as well. Fun to hear Silvestri and crackerjack Hollywood musicians doing Tchaikovsky! Muscular, intense, brooding, exciting score! Alan Silvestri conducts. Intrada Special Collection release available while quantities and interest remains!

Track list

01. Princes Day (Main Title) (2:28)
02. The Escape (4:31)
03. M.I.T. Arrival (1:16)
04. Bomb Squad (3:47)
05. Flashbacks (0:42)
06. Serendipity (0:50)
07. Gaerity Sets Up Shop (2:06)
08. Blanket Gets It (2:11)
09. Bomb Site (1:17)
10. Bake Sale Spy (0:29)
11. Playing The Angle (3:16)
12. Trolley Bomb Site (1:00)
13. Cortez Goes Boom (1:16)
14. Red Herring Du Jour (11:25)
15. Shut Him Down (0:31)
16. Explosive Headset (1:28)
17. Too Easy (2:48)
18. Kite Fixer (2:06)
19. Searching The Docks (2:56)
20. Gaeritys Hideout (1:25)
21. Saint Max (4:52)
22. Computer Search (1:02)
23. You Dont Know Me (2:12)
24. At The Dolphin (0:50)
25. Nail Bomb (0:58)
26. For Your Lovely Wife (0:46)
27. Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture (Last Bomb) (1:00)
28. Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture (Bomb Struggle) (1:23)
29. Final Fight (3:40)
30. Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture (Desperate Run) (2:01)
31. Brakeless In Boston (3:08)
32. Everybody Loves A Hero (1:40)

The Extras
33. Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture (Rehearsal #1) (0:31)
34. Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture (Rehearsal #2) (0:28)