Soundtrack Magazine Soundtrack Soundtrack Magazine  

Man, Woman and Child

Man, Woman and Child Soundtrack (Georges Delerue) - CD cover
Composer: Georges Delerue
Release date: 08/19/2013 (Film release: 1983)
Label: Quartet Records (8436035005239)
Type: Movie
Buy: Quartet Records
Format: CD
Members(< 5 votes)
Vote here!
Limited edition: 1200 copies
Subscribe now!

Stay better informed and get access to collectors info!

Support this website by buying this music through the links below!


1. Man, Woman and Child Theme (2:44)
2. Main Title (3:16)
3. The Kiss (2:33)
4. Intelligencia (2:36)
5. Flashback / Monfleur (1:41)
6. Plaisir D’Amour (1:48)
7. Bonjour Papa (1:47)
8. Driving Home (1:03)
9. Looks (1:06)
10. Conversation (2:44)
11. The Picture (1:48)
12. Trash to Chicken (1:09)
13. Mellow Margot (4:24)
14. Clean the Table / Medical Center (1:18)
15. I’m Your Father (3:23)
16. Coffee (2:01)
17. To Airport (1:45)
18. Au Revoir (1:52)
19. Never Gone (Vocal: Edie Lehman) (2:44)

Bonus Tracks
20. Main Title (Alternate A) (3:53)
21. Main Title (Alternate B) (3:20)
22. Plaisir D’Amour (Alternate) (1:45)
23. Never Gone (Alternate) (2:44)
24. Never Gone (Demo) (2:59)
25. Disco Delerue (2:57)
26. Rockin’in Roubaix (2:08)

Total duration: 61 minutes
Write your own review for this soundtrack! -
Login for members: (If you are not a member yet, please subscribe now: Subscribe)


In case you have already subscribed, request your password here by inserting your e-mail address:
Find more reviews on
World premiere release of the wonderful, radiant film score composed and conducted by Georges Delerue for Man, Woman and Child. Directed by Dick Richards (Farewell my Lovely) in 1979, the film starred Martin Sheen, Blythe Danner and Sebastian Dungan.

Written by Erich Segal (Love Story) from his own novel, the plot centers on a professor of literature (Martin Sheen) – with a wife and two daughters – who learns he has a son. A few years earlier, while visiting France, he had an accident and then an affair with the doctor who treated him. Now she has died and he finds out about the son he never knew he had. When he tells his wife, she suggests they bring him to the States for the summer. The film explores how the boy’s presence affects their family.

The perfect choice for scoring this sensitive film was Frenchman Georges Delerue, composer of some of the most romantic and bittersweet film scores ever written (The Soft, Skin, Two English Girls, Le Mépris, Our Mother's House, Rich and Famous). Favorite composer of two iconic French directors (François Truffaut and Philippe de Broca) and collaborator with many important European directors (Ken Russell, Jack Clayton, Jean-Luc Godard, Bernardo Bertolucci, Delerue moved from France to L.A. after winning his only Oscar (for the film A Little Romance in 1979. Starting in the eighties, he entered a new period focusing on American films – most of them romantic movies. The music written for Man, Woman and Child is undoubtedly one of the most memorable of these American scores, and an absolute treat for all Delerue fans.

The album contains Delerue’s complete score – including the beautiful song “Never Gone,” performed by Edie Lehmann – and a few alternate cues. The entire album was assembled from original multi-track stereo session masters vaulted at Paramount Pictures. The packaging includes a 12-page full color booklet with informative liner notes by Tim Greiving. Man, Woman and Child contains the essence of Delerue’s gift—beauty, sadness, romance—and remains an essential work from one of the finest composers who ever wrote for the screen.
Other releases of Man, Woman and Child (1983):

Man, Woman and Child (2000)

Soundtracks from the collection: Limited Editions

Firefly : Music For Solo Piano (2014) North and South (2008) Pacifista, La (2012) Caretakers / The Young Doctors, The (2008) Delta Force, The (2013) Norma Rae (2009) It's Alive (2012) Medal of Honor: Soundtrack Collection (2011) Sum of All Fears, The (2014) Speed 2: Cruise Control (2010)

Report a fault or send us additional info!: User name is Copyright © 1998-2015 by Arvid Fossen. Privacy Policy.